Troubleshooting eResources

How to solve common problems with accessing library resources online

EBSCO eBooks

How can I download and read electronic books on desktop computer?

The library has access to many electronic books through Ebsco.

A simple download process makes obtaining titles easy from any computer, and titles are compatible with most portable devices.

How can I download and read electronic books on my mobile device?

eBooks can be downloaded to your mobile device and read with the free Bluefire Reader app.

You will need the following:

  • Bluefire Reader App (Installed on your Apple, Android or Kindle Fire device)
  • An Adobe ID

Install Bluefire Reader App

Download the Bluefire Reader App from your device's app store:

Google Play: Android Phones and Tablets
iTunes App Store: Apple iPhones, iPads, and iPod Touch
Kindle Fire App Store: Kindle Fire Tablets

Create an Adobe ID

If you have previously created an Adobe ID to download and read EBSCO eBooks with Adobe Digital Editions on your desktop computer, you already have an Adobe ID you can use to authorize the Bluefire app.

Note: You must authorize the Bluefire app with your Adobe ID.

Authorize Bluefire App with your Adobe ID

Before you download an eBook to Bluefire, you must authorize the app with your Adobe ID.

Please note: You will only need to authorize the BlueFire app with your Adobe ID once. After this has been done, you will only need to tap Download any time you wish to download and read an eBook on your device.

To Authorize the App:

  1. Open the Bluefire app from your device's applications menu.
  2. Enter your Adobe ID and password in the fields provided.
  3. Tap Authorize.

Your device is now authorized to read EBSCO eBooks.

Checkout and Download an eBook

Next, locate an eBook you wish to download to your device and use the following steps to download it.

To download an eBook:

  1. Use your device's web browser to search your institution's eBook Collection on EBSCOhost and tap an eBook image in the result list for the eBook you would like to download. The detailed record is displayed.
  2. Tap the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download. If you are not logged into your personal My EBSCOhost folder, you are prompted to do so.
  3. Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and tap the Checkout & Download button. The eBook is added to the Checkout area of your My EBSCOhost folder and begins to download to your device.
  4. Once the eBook downloads, choose Bluefire to open the file. From there you can view your library or begin reading the eBook.

You may now begin reading the eBook on your device.

Note:

After your eBook checkout expires, the eBook file is still be on your device but can not be opened. You must remove the file manually by opening Bluefire and selecting to remove it from your library.

Adobe Digital Editions

Downloading ebooks from the Internet Archive or EBSCO ebooks onto your computer requires that you have Adobe Digital Editions installed. Install this program before you download the ebooks for an easier time with opening and using them.

Internet Archive

1. To download ebooks on internet archive, look for the download option on the right hand side of the screen, about halfway down.

download option on internet archive

2. You will be prompted to login. If you haven't made an account with Internet Archive, create one now and login.

login prompt on internet archive

3. Once you have logged in, choose which download option you want. You can find these on the right hand side of the screen about halfway down. Choose which one best fits your needs.

internet archive download options

4. You will be prompted by your computer as to what program you want to use to open the file after you've download it. Search for Adobe Digital Editions on your computer to choose that or open Adobe Digital Editions and drag your downloaded file into it.

drag file into adobe digital editions

EBSCO Ebooks

1. To download an EBSCO ebook, choose "Full Download" on the left hand side of the screen when viewing the book's information.

full text download buttom for ebsco ebooks

2. You will be asked to sign into EBSCO. If you have not created an account for EBSCO, create one now and then login.

ebsco login screen

3. You can borrow a book for up to 7 days, which is what the default checkout period is. You must click on the checkbox next to "I have Adobe Digital Editions or equivalent installed" in order to download the book.

ebsco ebooks download options

4. Choose the Adobe Digital Editions program to open the file or save the file to your computer and drag it into Adobe Digital Editions as shown above.

open adobe digital editions file

Overdrive

Follow the steps below to download and set up the Overdrive app

1. Download an Overdrive app

The Libby app
The original OverDrive app

2. Once the app is downloaded, search for Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts under Add a Library to access our collection.

screenshot

MCLA's Overdrive Collection is part of the SAILS library network. Choose SAILS Library Network.

screenshot

3. Use the sign in button to access the collection.

screenshot

4. Choose Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts from the drop-down menu.

screenshot

5. The "sign-in" button will prompt you for your MCLA A number and password.

screenshot

6. Now you're ready to borrow!

For more information on using Overdrive, visit their website.