Best Evidence Level One: Systematic Reviews & Meta-Analyses: Library Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing and full-text of top nursing and allied health journals and non-journal content such as Quick Lessons, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, & Continuing Education Modules.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
Use the Advanced Search screen to limit your search to systematic reviews and/or evidence-based articles. Put "systemic reviews" or "evidence based" in the first search box and your topic in the second search box.
MEDLINE
Produced by the National Library of Medicine Access to MEDLINE is provided as an EBSCO database. From the Advanced Search screen scroll down and select the EBM Reviews limiter:
Try Searching all 3 Databases at Once
- Use this link to search MEDLINE & Biomedical Reference Collection and SPORTDiscus with Full-Text
- Select Advanced Search
- Use your keywords AND (systematic or meta-analysis or evidence-based)
PubMed - Clinical Queries > Systematic Reviews
From the PubMed home screen > Under PubMed Tools > Click Clinical Queries > Run Search > Systematic Reviews found are listed in center column
Best Evidence - Level One: Systematic Reviews & Meta-Analyses: Websites
Here are some of the most important sources for systematic reviews and meta-analyses. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is the leading source of systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR is one of seven databases in the Cochrane Library and is produced by the Cochrane Collaborative, the world's leading resource for evidence-based practice.
You can use Interlibrary Loan for articles not available full text in the databases.
- PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence DatabaseA free database of over 27,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsAlthough this is a fee-based database you can access the abstracts and plain language summaries if available for free. Abstracts usually contain objectives, main results, author conclusions and more. Click 'Browse free summaries" in left toolbox to access the free summaries.
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - EPC Evidence ReportsThis U.S. government site provides these summaries of published evidence for and against the use of testing, diagnosing, treating, managing, or preventing diseases, disorders and conditions.
- AHRQ Comparative Effectiveness ReviewsComparative effectiveness research is designed to inform health-care decisions by providing evidence on the effectiveness, benefits, and harms of different treatment options. The evidence is generated from research studies that compare drugs, medical devices, tests, surgeries, or ways to deliver health care.
TRIP: Meta-Search Engine
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) is a meta-seach engine that searches over 100 evidence-based medical information sites worldwide. You can limit your TRIP search in various ways including by geographic location. TRIP also contains Developing World Implications. Register for a free account to access additional functionalities, including saving your search history.