Library Services

There may be times that  you want to borrow materials that aren't available in the MCLA collections. There are other ways to get hold of these items. Let's go over your options.

What type of item are you looking for?

Books & Videos

Articles

1. Use the Library Catalog to find books and e-books that are available at the MCLA library and from our partner libraries in HELM.
2. Use the Commonwealth Catalog (ComCat) to find books that are available statewide in Massachusetts. You will need your library login (the same one  you use to request books in the MCLA HELM catalog) to request an item. Contact us if you need help logging in.
3. Use WorldCat to search for books and ebooks held by libraries worldwide. Use the 'Request on Interlibrary Loan" button to request the item from another library.
4. Get an ecard from the Boston Public Library to access all of Boston Public Library's remotely-accessible electronic resources, including magazine databases, downloadable audio, video, eBooks, and music. Students living in Massachusetts while attending school are eligible for a card. Go to the BPL's eCard site to sign up for one.
5. Use the Williams College library. Before you head over to Williams to borrow books you must come to the reference desk MCLA Freel Library and get the appropriate paperwork to borrow from Williams. Williams will not allow you to check out books without this paperwork. Faculty can borrow books directly from Williams College with their faculty ID card.
6. Use our ILLRequest Form if you can't find the item in any of the ways listed above.

1. Look for the "Find Full-Text" links in the library databases to request an article from another library
2. Use Google Scholar and look for full-text links on the right hand side of the screen. If you are off-campus, use these instructions to set it up for full access to library resources.
3. Get an ecard from the Boston Public Library to access all of Boston Public Library's remotely-accessible electronic resources, including magazine databases, downloadable audio, video, eBooks, and music. Students living in Massachusetts while attending school are eligible for a card. Go to the BPL's eCard site to sign up for one.
4. Visit Williams College and use their library. You may access Williams College online library databases at the Sawyer or Schow library and use them onsite. Williams College does not allow remote access of their databases by non-Williams affiliated patrons.
5. Use our ILL Request Form if you can't find the item in any of the ways listed above.