Where to Search
So where do you search to find the best resources to write your research paper?
Don't start with Google to do your research. You aren't going to find the scholarly sources that are best for your research there because scholarly research costs money and isn't freely available online for the most part. Luckily, the library pays to access a lot of scholarly research and makes it available through a variety of different search tools.
Search Everything
Search everything searches does just what it says - it searches all of the library's collections at once. This can be great to get a comprehensive overview of what is out there on your topic but it can also be a little overwhelming because there is so much. It is a great place to start your research.
Search Everything
Keyword Suggestions
- Fertility AND Older people
- Fertility AND age
- Mortality AND older people
- Mortality AND Sex factors in disease
- Mortality AND gender
- Emigration AND immigration AND aging
- Emigration AND immigration AND gender
- Women immigrants
Find Articles in These Recommended Databases
If you want to narrow down your search a little more, you can do a search in one database at a time. Here are some that I recommend,
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database has full-text articles that cover all aspects of sociology and closely related areas of study.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the library's most popular database. It includes multi-disciplinary coverage,full-text access to journal articles and other scholarly materials not typically available through web searches.
- AgeLine This link opens in a new windowAgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. AgeLine is the premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
- Academic OneFile Select (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFrom arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, general science and social sciences dating back to the late 17th century. JSTOR is great for historical research but not for current research.
MCLA's access to JSTOR is made possible by support from the Hardman Family Endowment.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is another resource for finding research articles. Look on the right hand side of the screen for the "Check MCLA Full-Text" links that will bring you to the article in one of our databases. You can also look for the free PDFs listed on the right hand side. If you are off-campus, use these instructions to set it up for full access to library resources.
