Physics Librarian
Researching from Home?
Best Bets for Physics Research
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new windowarXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature using the familiar Google interface. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. If you are off-campus, use these instructions to set it up for full access to library resources.
- Scitation This link opens in a new windowScitation is the online home of leading journals and conference proceedings from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies. Citations do not link to the MCLA library databases. Copy and paste the title of articles into Google Scholar to find the full text or request interlibrary loan.
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowFor those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics - full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- Science Database This link opens in a new windowA growing resource of 7.3 million full text articles from over 1600 sources, supporting the needs of students studying applied and general sciences.
Books (Print and Electronic)
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Close to 200,000 academic ebooks spanning all areas of study. Read in your browser or download for offline reading. Print or save a limited number of pages as a PDF (page limits vary by publisher).
Browse the collection upstairs by call number
| QC 1-75 | General |
| QC 81-114 | Weights and measures |
| QC 120-168.86 | Descriptive and experimental mechanics |
| QC 170-197 | Atomic physics, Constitution and properties of matter (incl. relativity, quantum theory, and solid-state physics) |
| QC 221-246 | Acoustics, Sound |
| QC 251-338.5 | Heat (incl. Thermodynamics) |
| QC 350-467 | Optics, Light (incl. Spectroscopy) |
| QC 474-496.9 | Radiation physics |
| QC 501-766 | Electricity and magnetism |
| QC 770-798 | Nuclear and particle physics, Atomic energy |
| QC 801-809 | Geophysics, Cosmic physics |
| QC 811-849 | Geomagnetism |
| QC 851-999 | Meteorology, Climatology |
Selected Web Sites
- Physics To Go: Explore Physics on your ownPhysics To Go is an online monthly mini-magazine and a collection of more than 950 websites with physics images, activites, and info.
- Sixty Symbols - Physics and Astronomy videosVideos about various symbols used by physicists and astronomers.
- Oral History Interviews in Physics, Astronomy, and Geophysics — The Niels Bohr Library & Archives at the American Institute of PhysicsThe Niels Bohr Library and Archives of the American Institute of Physics holds more than a thousand tape-recorded interviews. Many of the oral history interview transcripts are now online. The interviews, conducted by the staff of the AIP Center for History of Physics and many other historians, offer unique insights into the lives, works, and personalities of modern scientists.
- Center for History of Physics - American Institute of PhysicsAIP's Center for History of Physics works to preserve and make known the historical record of modern physics and allied sciences.
- InterFun, interactive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena from the PhET™ project at the University of Colorado.
- MinutePhysics - YouTubeSimply put: cool physics and other sweet science -- all in a minute!