Industry News
Finding up-to date industry information and news can be really important when working on research projects, networking, and job hunting. Use these resources to help.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text from the New York Times from 1985 to the present.
To access the NYT digital edition, see these instructions. - Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides selected full text for 860 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains more than 857,000 full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers.
- America's News This link opens in a new windowExplore local newspapers through this database, including the Berkshire Eagle, the North Adams Transcript, The Springfield Advocate, the Daily Hampshire Gazette, and more.
Available through the Boston Public Library
All students in Massachusetts are eligible to sign up for a BPL ecard
This link will bring you to the BPL list of resources. Scroll through the list to find individual titles.
Industry associations or organizations can provide a wealth of information about the industry. Many will also include recent news sections as well.
For how to find industry associations, take a look at the Industry Associations section of the Doing Industry Research guide.
- Google AlertsGoogle Alerts are email updates of the latest relevant Google results (web, news, etc.) based on your queries.
Use the link to configure Google alerts and have the results delivered directly to an e-mail box of your choosing.
You can also personalize the types of news and sources you want to see.
Many databases offer alert services. Look for any button or link that says alerts or save search or something similar. Most databases will first require you to sign up for a free account.
For further information about setting up alerts, RSS feeds, and other ways to get up-to-date company news more quickly, refer to the following guide.