Your Librarian
Acknowledgement
Thank you to Alice Kalinowski for her permission to adapt her Doing Business Research @ Pitt guide.
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Starting Points
Search Everything
Search EverythingSearches books, ebooks, articles, journals, and more. To narrow down your search, use the tools on the left-hand side of your results screen.
Search EBSCO's Business Source Interface
The Business Searching Interface (BSI) is EBSCO’s highly focused user interface created especially for the business searcher. Business Searching Interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.
Key Databases
Available through the MCLA Freel Library
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Sustainability Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Available through the Boston Public Library
All students in Massachusetts are eligible to sign up for a BPL ecard
The links below will bring you to the BPL list of resources. Scroll through the list to find individual titles.
- SAGE Business CasesSAGE Business Cases provides access to more than 3,650 authoritative cases from over 100 countries. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
- Gale Directory LibrarySearchable directories of businesses, brands, organizations and associations, information sources, and more.
- Mergent EventsDataEventsData delivers on-going updated information on stock-splits, mergers, tender offers, partial/full calls, and name changes. EventsData message feeds capture and analyze breaking business developments as they occur. Users are able to research corporate actions, dividends, fixed Income and unit Investment trust data from a historical perspective.
- Mergent IntellectDelivers private and public United States and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executives and industry profiles. Provides contact information for over 250 million United States consumers and shows job listings specific to each company.
- Mergent OnlineIn depth reports on over 30,000 public companies, both U.S. and Global. Information includes financials from company SEC filings, annual reports (current and archived), institutional holdings and insider trading from 1995 to the present.
- Morningstar Investment Research CenterMorningstar® Investment Research Center provides real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds.
- Value LineValue Line provides a vast array of financial measures for over 6,000 stocks, 18,000 mutual funds, 200,000 options, and other securities. Delve into Value Line’s accurate estimates, projections and historical data to discover opportunities that fit your investment strategy.
Newspaper Databases
Available through the MCLA Freel Library
- EBSCO News This link opens in a new windowSearches both Regional Business News and Newspaper Source Plus
- America's News This link opens in a new windowExplore local newspapers through this database, including the Berkshire Eagle, the North Adams Transcript, The Springfield Advocate, the Daily Hampshire Gazette, and more.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text from the New York Times from 1985 to the present.
To access the NYT digital edition, see these instructions.
Available through the Boston Public Library
All students in Massachusetts are eligible to sign up for a BPL ecard
The links below will bring you to the BPL list of resources. Scroll through the list to find individual titles.
Business Magazines
Available through the MCLA Freel Library
Here are just a few of the business magazines library has access to. To find a specific title, use our journal finder tool.
Available through the Boston Public Library
All students in Massachusetts are eligible to sign up for a BPL ecard
The links below will bring you to the BPL list of business resources. Scroll through the list to find individual titles.
- EBSCO Business Magazine ArchiveSearch across decades of business magazine back issues. Titles include: Bloomberg Businessweek, Forbes,and Fortune
Google Scholar is another resource for finding research articles. Look on the right hand side of the screen for the "Check MCLA Full-Text" links that will bring you to the article in one of our databases. You can also look for the free PDFs listed on the right hand side. If you are off-campus, use these instructions to set it up for full access to library resources.
Google Scholar
Researching from Home?
More Business Guides
Looking for a more focused guide? Check out our other business guides.