Theatre

A general guide to theatre research

Search Everything

Some suggested keywords for searching are listed below.

These links bring you to the library's discovery portal, which searches books, ebooks, articles, journals, and more. To narrow down your search, use the tools on the left-hand side of your results screen.

magnifying glassOR Create Your Own Search


Advanced Search

OR browse the shelves upstairs

Most (but not all) theatre books have call numbers which start with PN 1560 - PN 1590   

For example:

PN 1560-1590 The performing arts. Show business

PN 1600-3307 Drama

Literature - Drama

PQ 1-3999 French Literature   (includuing drama collections (i.e. plays)
PQ 4001-5999 Italian literature  (includuing drama collections (i.e. plays)  
PR 1-9680 English literature (includuing drama collections (i.e. plays)
PR 1-9680 American literature (includuing drama collections (i.e. plays)
PT 1-9999 Germanic literatures (includuing drama collections (i.e. plays)

Manners and Customs

GT 1-7070 Manners and customs (General)
GT 165-476 Houses. Dwellings.
GT 500-2370 Costume. Dress. Fashion.
GT 3400-5090 Customs: Public and social life (town/court life, festivals, holidays, royalty, etc.)
GT 5320-6390 Customs: Special classes (e.g. by birth, rank, occupation)

Dancing

GV 1575 -1981 Dancing

Music

M Music (Musical scores, printed parts, etc.)
     MT 955 Musical Theatre, opera

Essential Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is another resource for finding research articles. Look on the right hand side of the screen for the "Check MCLA Full-Text" links that will bring you to the article in one of our databases. You can also look for the free PDFs listed on the right hand side.

google scholarGoogle Scholar