Your Librarian
Researching from Home?
Best Bet Chemistry Databases
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature using the familiar Google interface. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. If you are off-campus, use these instructions to set it up for full access to library resources.
- Science Database This link opens in a new windowA growing resource of 7.3 million full text articles from over 1600 sources, supporting the needs of students studying applied and general sciences.
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowFor those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics - full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- ChemRxivChemRxiv (pronounced 'chem-archive') is a free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. Note: ChemRxiv conducts a basic screen for plagiarism, offensive language, and non-scientific content, and will exclude materials that may pose a health or security risk if identified. Beyond this, the files are unedited, and are not peer-reviewed.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowDOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Books (Print and Electronic)
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Close to 200,000 academic ebooks spanning all areas of study. Read in your browser or download for offline reading. Print or save a limited number of pages as a PDF (page limits vary by publisher).
- Library CatalogFind print and electronic books available through MCLA and other HELM libraries.
Browse the collection upstairs by call number
| QD1-65 | Chemistry (General |
| QD71-142 | Analytical Chemistry |
| QD146-197 | Inorganic Chemistry |
| QD241-441 | Organic Chemistry |
| QD450-801 | Physical and Theoretical Chemistry |
| QD901-999 | Crystallography |
Selected Websites
- Common ChemistryThis project of the American Chemical Society allows users to look up basic information on chemicals using either their chemical name or CAS Registry Number.
- Dynamic Periodic TableInteractive periodic table of elements
- Wired ChemistContains various features such as pedagogical animations, an introduction to chemistry, modules on important topics in chemistry, demonstrations of laboratory techniques, NMR spectral data and problems, and so on.
- The PubChem ProjectPubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Collects information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
- Knowledge DoorSolve problems using 25,183 values with citations spanning 131 quantities.
- The Periodic Table of Videos - University of NottinghamTables charting the chemical elements have been around since the 19th century - but this modern version has a short video about each one. All these videos are created by video journalist Brady Haran, featuring real working chemists from the University of Nottingham.
- Chemistry resources for Teachers and Students - Learn ChemistryLearn Chemistry from the Royal Society of Chemistry is an educational resources and teacher support publishing programme.
Activities support educators of Primary, Secondary and Higher Education students. Offers resources in various forms including downloadable documents, videos, audio content, interactives and simulations, and ebooks. - ChemSpiderChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 30 million structures from hundreds of data sources.