Search Everything
Some suggested keywords for searching are listed below.
These links bring you to the library's discovery portal, which searches books, ebooks, articles, journals, and more. To narrow down your search, use the tools on the left-hand side of your results screen.
Or Create Your Own Search
Essential Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals in the arts, humanities, general science and social sciences dating back to the late 17th century. JSTOR is great for historical research but not for current research.
MCLA's access to JSTOR is made possible by support from the Hardman Family Endowment. - Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the library's most popular database. It includes multi-disciplinary coverage,full-text access to journal articles and other scholarly materials not typically available through web searches.
- U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History - full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted website.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is another resource for finding research articles. Look on the right hand side of the screen for the "Check MCLA Full-Text" links that will bring you to the article in one of our databases. You can also look for the free PDFs listed on the right hand side. If you are off-campus, use these instructions to set it up for full access to library resources.
Google Scholar
WorldCat
WorldCat searches resources in libraries nationwide (delivery in 2-3 weeks). Use the interlibrary loan button to place a request for items not owned by MCLA.
