STEM Academy | Fall 2020

You've found the perfect article -- now, how do you find a copy of the full text so that you can read it?

• Full text within the database: Sometimes, the database record for an article will include a link to full text. Simply click the link; you can download, view, or email the article to yourself.
   
• No full text within the database: Look for the "Find Full Text" link. This link will do three things:
  1. Goes out and search all of the library's holdings to see if the full text is available in a different database;
  2. Provides a link to Google Scholar so that you can see if full text is available there;
  3. Lets you request the article via Interlibrary Loan with one click; just fill in your contact information. (Allow 1-2 business days for most ILL articles.)
      

If you have an article citation (for example, something you found in a bibliography) and want to get the full text, try the following:

• Search for the article title in Google Scholar and see if there is linked full text.
• Use our Publication Lookup and type in the name of the journal (not the article!).
  • If the library has the journal online, check to see if it has the dates that you need, then click through to go to the online journal.
  • If the article isn't available through the library, try Google Scholar.
  • Still no luck? Request the article via Interlibrary Loan. 

Unpaywall is a browser extension for Chrome and Firefox. If you come across a journal article on the web, Unpaywall will let you know if a free, legal full-text copy is available. (If Unpaywall can't find free full text, remember that as an MCLA student/faculty/staff member, you can request articles via interlibrary loan. Don't pay!)