Sport Marketing by Bernard Mullin; Stephen Hardy; William A. SuttonThis student text provides a foundation of theory and principles for those seeking sports management position It provides an overview of the reasons and foundations for sport marketing as well as theoretical and research issues, and why market segmentation is important
Call Number: GV716.M85 2000
The Event Marketing Handbook by Allison SagetEvent marketing is big business: U.S. corporations invest more than $300 billion a year in every kind of event-from webinars, tradeshows, product launches, and golf hospitality functions, to user groups and customer conferences. InThe Event Marketing Handbook, industry expert Allison Saget shows marketing professionals how to maximize return on investment for the dollars their companies spend on events. She believes that event marketing is a strategic, dynamic discipline linked to a firm’s business objectives and sales goals. The key, according to Saget, is a great BLT-Brand recognition, Lead generation, and Thought leadership. In this A-to-Z guide, Saget shows professionals how to drive results through integrated marketing activities, such as advertising, direct mail, and public relations. She also answers crucial questions like: "How do I reach my target audiences?" "Why and when should we use celebrities at our events?" and "How do I plan a press and analyst program within an event?" Packed with case studies, planning templates, sample time frames, event programs, and names of associations, The Event Marketing Handbook is designed for every marketer who wants to think strategically, remember the fundamentals, plan carefully, and achieve results. Beginners and seasoned veterans alike should own this book. Highlights InThe Event Marketing Handbook, readers will discover: •An end-to-end process, from planning through measurement •Cautionary advice to help them avoid pitfalls and problems •Myriad tricks of the trade from industry insiders, such as event producers, management companies, exhibit houses, and event moguls
Sport Tourism Development by Thomas Hinch; James E. S. HighamSport Tourism Development provides an incisive and comprehensive examination of theoretical and applied aspects of sport tourism. It critically considers the scope and diversity of links between the sport and tourism industries and then explores contemporary manifestations of sport tourism in space and time. The book presents a critical discussion of theoretical and applied issues in sport tourism, illustrating the discussions in each chapter with case studies provided by internationally recognised researchers from Great Britain, Europe, Asia, North America and Australasia, all working in a range of relevant disciplines. Rapid growth in demand for sport and tourism experiences in recent decades has heightened the need for advanced, in-depth and critical insights into sport tourism that are theoretically informed. Sport Tourism Development achieves these insights in a manner that is intended to serve the needs of students, educators and industry practitioners across a wide range of fields.
Publication Date: 2003-11-12
Strategic Sports Event Management by Guy MastermanThe hosting of sports events whether large international events, or smaller niche interest events has huge and long-lasting impacts on the local environment, economy and industry. Strategic Sports Event Management: Olympic Edition provides students and event managers with an insight into the strategic management of sports events of all scales and nature. The framework offers a planning process that can be used to understand the importance of a strategic approach, and shows how to implement strategies that can achieve successful sports events over the short and long-term. The text uses international case studies throughout to offer real-world insight in both larger and smaller events. Plus, in this new Olympic edition, a case study from the Beijing Olympiad is included in each chapter. Through this topical and timely addition to the text, we can understand the lessons to be learned by events mangers of events of all sizes. Written by an experienced author and using first-hand research the text looks at: the organizations involved such as the IOC, FIFA and IAAF, and their interactions with charities, the media and promoters the short-term and long-term benefits of the planning process evaluating the event, its impacts and legacies operational strategies including finance, ticketing, transport, venues, IT, communications, equipment and personnel the bidding process and what is required for a successful bid Strategic Sports Event Management: Olympic Edition builds on the substantial success of the first edition and is vital reading for students and practitioners alike. "
Sport, Recreation and Tourism Event Management by Cheryl Mallen; Lorne J. Adams; Mike Cheliak (Photographer)Sport, Recreation and Tourism Event Management encourages students to apply theoretical foundations as they think through the requirements for any specific event, enabling them to develop a knowledge strategy for event management that will guide them into this field. This book focuses specifically on the operational planning component and the role of the event manager as the planner and facilitator, providing theoretical foundations behind the activities for planning. This book covers topics such as: event development event logistics event quality implementation and monitoring Full of industry applications strengthening the featured theory, Sport, Recreation and Tourism Event Management is the essential book for anyone entering the event management field."
Sport Tourism by Joy Standeven; Paul de KnopAn emerging segment of the world's largest and fastest-growing industry, sport tourism capitalizes on the relationship between tourism and the high-profile, multi-billion dollar sports industry. Sport Tourismprovides an in-depth analysis of the nature of sport, the nature of tourism, and the symbiotic relationship between the two. Standeven and De Knop present detailed case studies from around the world to illustrate the interplay between sport tourism and -the economy, -sociocultural dynamics, -people's health, -the environment, -urban development, and -public policy. Paying special attention to cultural variations, Standeven and De Knop explore the way sport tourism is administered in countries around the world. They examine current trends and assess future prospects. A useful reference for industry personnel and an illuminative text for students, Sport Tourismprovides valuable insight into this dynamic industry.
Call Number: G155.A1 S662 1999
Sport Business Management by Lori K. MillerCovers the fundamental issues facing any business, including planning, organizing, staffing and controlling, while speaking to the issues unique to the sport industry. Addresses multiple aspects of the industry, from sporting goods to arena management. Topics include sport industry analysis, federal
Branded by Jason W. LeeThis book is an excellent resource that examines significant brands and the points of interest associated with their successes (and sometimes failures). Brands in this work span sport, recreation, and beyond, and each chapter sheds light on actions that have utilized sport business to cultivate brand equity.
The importance of branding has generated great interest in academic and professional circles. Brands range from images that represent products to a variety of symbols associated with products. The producers and consumers of these products build associations and affinities to these brands. The brands profiled are examples of successful (and sometimes not so successful) products, and this book's impressive accumulation of information concerning the companies, people, places, goods, and services provides points for discussion and further examination.